Rootbrain is a five star-collective featuring members of bands like Triptykon, Dark Fortress,Profane Omen, and Kuolemanlaakso. Hailing from Finland they serve a peculiar mix of dangerous groove, juicy melodies, and punky attitude. They call their style “black grunge”. You can call it whatever you will. 

The band was formed by Thomas Wright and Hurja Helle who had known each other for years from being active in the Finnish metal scene since the mid ‘90s. They decided to start making the kind of music they would like to listen to and play on stage themselves, combining their personalities: Helle’s loose cannonball energy and Wright’s crooked melody language. Soon after, the band’s line-up became complete with a unit of five talented musicians who all bring their strong personalities and talent to the mix.

Rootbrain’s debut album, ’Breakwater’ was released by the band themselves on the 14th of June 2023 as a limited edition of 500 hand numbered cd’s as well as on all major digital platforms. If all goes well, there will also be a vinyl edition during 2024. So far, the feedback has been extremely positive and the album has been receiving rave reviews.

’Breakwater’ was engineered, mixed, and mastered by V. Santura of Triptykon and DarkFortress at Woodshed Studio, Germany. Originally, he was asked to record, produce, and play some guitar leads for the album. However he was so impressed by the band’s groove, chemistry, and song-writing that during the sessions, he ended up joining the band as a lead guitarist full time.

The band already has some fresh new black grunge, recorded, mixed and ready to bang in the form of a new four song EP, titled ’Mothertomb’. But make no mistake, this band is made for playing live and will finally take over stages in Finland starting their tour with Palehørse on 8.6.2024. Brace yourself for a summer of live black grunge.

Jules Näveri: vocals 
V. Santura: lead guitar, backing vocals
Hurja Helle: rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Thomas Wright: bass, acoustic guitar
Fat Tony: drums, percussions